Advice For Dealing With An Alcoholic

Over my struggles with my father, I have found out that it is better to help myself to deal with the struggles that I have gone through in lieu of my father’s drinking habits.  I had spent a lot of time and energy trying to get my father to see that he had a problem, however, he continued on like what I said does not matter.  This angered me for a little while because my father always resisted my attempts and I only wanted him to stop drinking so he would be able to live a long and healthy life.

But, after I realized that I do not have power over the situation, I decided to move on and help myself deal with the feelings of anger and distress over my father’s actions.  If I am not able to help him, I will at least help myself deal with the ugly truth that my father will never be the same until the day he decided to opt for a healthier lifestyle.

So, my advice for people who have to go through a similar situation, is to try and not let the alcoholic in your life’s problem affect your own life as much.  Each day, try to make your life better and do not let yourself get down if you can not get through to the alcoholic in your life.

2 responses to “Advice For Dealing With An Alcoholic

  • waynemali

    As a recovering alcoholic who’s partner left him earlier this year, I so agree with your post, I didn’t want to hear anything from my partner about my drinking, it made it worse and I wanted to drink even more.

    I came to my senses when she decided she had had enough, I hit rock bottom and reached a crossroads, end it or change it, I thankfully changed it. Tough love was the only thing that broke my spell.

    Sometimes you have to protect yourself, stay strong, love your father, but be there for him when he needs you most, when he decides to change it.

    UR>
    Wayne

    • A.L. Concord

      Wayne,
      Thank you for sharing your story. I’m glad to hear that you have made a choice in your life to change for the better. It takes strong will and commitment to take the steps needed to overcome the addiction to alcohol and I am glad you were determined enough to break the spell. I wish you the best in the future.

      Regards,

      A.L.

Leave a Reply

